Perks of Being a Wallflower – Chbosky

This week at the school I teach, I found a copy of The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky.  I saw the movie a few months ago and it was a movie I considered to have a lot of depth and relevance as a former high school  student and current high school teacher.  These characters seem so real with so many common issues and connections.  I liked the movie and I’m enjoying the book.  The book’s author also wrote and directed the movie, so they are closely tied. It can be frustrating when a movie differs so much from the book. Today we had parent-teacher conferences.  Since I have so few show up, I made sure I had a book on hand, and this was the one. I started reading and made it through chapter one without any visitors showing up. So far, Charlie (main character) has met Patrick (Nothing) and Sam (crush).  It seems like for the first time, he finds people who understand him and accept him. For so many adolescents, this is a big deal.  This is the happy part, so many sad parts in the book, but the happy part is the main idea for me in this one.

One thought on “Perks of Being a Wallflower – Chbosky

Leave a Reply

